Skip to content
College Path Hub

Gardner-Webb University

Boiling Springs, North Carolina · Private nonprofit · 4-year · Rural

Compare this college

Official website

At a glance

Average net price
$17,674What students typically pay per year after grants and scholarships.
Acceptance rate
77%
Graduation rate
59%Share of students who finish within 150% of the normal time.
Undergraduates
1,856
In-state tuition
$34,760Published price before aid.
Out-of-state tuition
$34,760
SAT midpoint
1,088
Median earnings, 10 yrs
$48,039Median earnings of former students ten years after they first enrolled.

Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Data year: 2022-23 academic year. Updated September 2026. Figures are averages across all students and will differ from what any individual pays.

How it compares to similar colleges

Each rating covers one measure against private nonprofit 4-year colleges nationally. Five stars means the top fifth on that measure. There is no overall score, because which of these matters is your call.

Affordability

$17,674

Better than 77% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1092 compared).

Completion

59%

Better than 50% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1063 compared).

Earnings

$48,039

Better than 31% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1087 compared).

Debt at graduation

$24,222

Better than 56% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1020 compared).

What these ratings are based on
Affordability
Based on average net price: what students receiving federal aid actually paid, after grants and scholarships. Your own cost depends on your family's finances.
Completion
Based on the share of first-time, full-time students who graduate within 150% of normal time. It excludes transfer and part-time students, which understates colleges serving many of them.
Earnings
Based on median earnings ten years after students first enrolled. It reflects the subjects a college teaches and the region it sits in as much as its teaching.
Debt at graduation
Based on median federal loan debt among students who completed. Private and parent loans are not included, so real totals are often higher.
Why there is no rating for selectivity
A lower acceptance rate is selectivity, not quality. Awarding stars for it would be us inventing a value judgement and hiding it behind a number.

What it actually costs

Published cost

$47,091

The sticker price: tuition, fees, housing, food and books for one academic year, before any aid.

Average net price

$17,674

What students receiving federal aid actually paid on average, after grants and scholarships. This is the more useful number, though your own figure depends on your family’s finances.

Use this college’s official net price calculator

Outcomes

Graduation, retention, debt and earnings for Gardner-Webb University
Graduation rateWithin 150% of normal time59%
Retention rateFirst-year students who return55%
Median debt at graduationFederal loans only, students who completed$24,222
Median earnings, 10 years after entryFormer students, working and not enrolled$48,039

What graduates of each major earn

Median earnings one year after finishing, for people who took that subject here. This is the figure a college-wide median hides: the spread between subjects at one college is usually far wider than the spread between colleges.

Bachelor’s programs at Gardner-Webb University by graduate earnings
MajorEarnings, 1 yrDegrees awarded
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$71,33774
Accounting and Related Services$44,26120
Business Administration, Management and Operations$42,84037
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods$39,85035
Health and Medical Administrative Services$39,4729
Criminal Justice and Corrections$35,43325
Clinical, Counseling and Applied Psychology$34,49139
Psychology, GeneralNot reported26
Physiology, Pathology and Related SciencesNot reported20
Biology, GeneralNot reported19
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/FitnessNot reported17
Communication and Media StudiesNot reported13
Religion/Religious StudiesNot reported11
English Language and Literature, GeneralNot reported10
Finance and Financial Management ServicesNot reported9
American Sign LanguageNot reported8
Design and Applied ArtsNot reported8
MusicNot reported7
Political Science and GovernmentNot reported6
Fine and Studio ArtsNot reported6
MarketingNot reported6
SociologyNot reported5
Computer ScienceNot reported5
ChemistryNot reported5
MathematicsNot reported5
JournalismNot reported3
International BusinessNot reported3
Drama/Theatre Arts and StagecraftNot reported2
Linguistic, Comparative, and Related Language Studies and ServicesNot reported2
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject AreasNot reported2
Arts, Entertainment, and Media ManagementNot reported1
HistoryNot reported1
Fire ProtectionNot reported1
EconomicsNot reportedNot reported
Teaching English or French as a Second or Foreign LanguageNot reportedNot reported
International/Globalization StudiesNot reportedNot reported
Romance Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsNot reportedNot reported
Social Sciences, GeneralNot reportedNot reported
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment ProfessionsNot reportedNot reported

All 39 bachelor’s programs this college reported.

Similar colleges