Skip to content
College Path Hub

Florida Agricultural and Mechanical University

Tallahassee, Florida · Public · 4-year · City

Compare this college

Official website

At a glance

Average net price
$13,739What students typically pay per year after grants and scholarships.
Acceptance rate
21%
Graduation rate
53%Share of students who finish within 150% of the normal time.
Undergraduates
7,582
In-state tuition
$5,785Published price before aid.
Out-of-state tuition
$17,725
SAT midpoint
1,080
Median earnings, 10 yrs
$44,349Median earnings of former students ten years after they first enrolled.

Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Data year: 2022-23 academic year. Updated September 2026. Figures are averages across all students and will differ from what any individual pays.

How it compares to similar colleges

Each rating covers one measure against public 4-year colleges nationally. Five stars means the top fifth on that measure. There is no overall score, because which of these matters is your call.

Affordability

$13,739

Better than 58% of public 4-year colleges (565 compared).

Completion

53%

Better than 51% of public 4-year colleges (566 compared).

Earnings

$44,349

Better than 15% of public 4-year colleges (590 compared).

Debt at graduation

$23,548

Better than 22% of public 4-year colleges (588 compared).

What these ratings are based on
Affordability
Based on average net price: what students receiving federal aid actually paid, after grants and scholarships. Your own cost depends on your family's finances.
Completion
Based on the share of first-time, full-time students who graduate within 150% of normal time. It excludes transfer and part-time students, which understates colleges serving many of them.
Earnings
Based on median earnings ten years after students first enrolled. It reflects the subjects a college teaches and the region it sits in as much as its teaching.
Debt at graduation
Based on median federal loan debt among students who completed. Private and parent loans are not included, so real totals are often higher.
Why there is no rating for selectivity
A lower acceptance rate is selectivity, not quality. Awarding stars for it would be us inventing a value judgement and hiding it behind a number.

What it actually costs

Published cost

$23,970

The sticker price: tuition, fees, housing, food and books for one academic year, before any aid.

Average net price

$13,739

What students receiving federal aid actually paid on average, after grants and scholarships. This is the more useful number, though your own figure depends on your family’s finances.

Use this college’s official net price calculator

Outcomes

Graduation, retention, debt and earnings for Florida Agricultural and Mechanical University
Graduation rateWithin 150% of normal time53%
Retention rateFirst-year students who return89%
Median debt at graduationFederal loans only, students who completed$23,548
Median earnings, 10 years after entryFormer students, working and not enrolled$44,349

What graduates of each major earn

Median earnings one year after finishing, for people who took that subject here. This is the figure a college-wide median hides: the spread between subjects at one college is usually far wider than the spread between colleges.

Bachelor’s programs at Florida Agricultural and Mechanical University by graduate earnings
MajorEarnings, 1 yrDegrees awarded
Construction Engineering Technology/Technician$70,80414
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$64,77256
Computer and Information Sciences, General$55,61741
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods$50,73629
Business Administration, Management and Operations$40,874106
Journalism$36,35654
Health and Medical Administrative Services$34,59136
Biology, General$34,012107
Criminal Justice and Corrections$33,776102
Social Work$31,40150
Sociology$31,16718
Political Science and Government$30,79857
Multi-/Interdisciplinary Studies, General$30,107110
Psychology, General$29,264100
Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied Communication$28,51624
Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General$27,553251
Agriculture, General$26,67723
Design and Applied Arts$23,50421
Drama/Theatre Arts and Stagecraft$16,6959
Architectural Sciences and TechnologyNot reported34
Accounting and Related ServicesNot reported23
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/FitnessNot reported22
MusicNot reported19
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment ProfessionsNot reported15
ChemistryNot reported12
Industrial EngineeringNot reported11
Natural Resources Conservation and ResearchNot reported10
Agricultural Business and ManagementNot reported10
Food Science and TechnologyNot reported8
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject AreasNot reported8
English Language and Literature, GeneralNot reported8
Pharmacy, Pharmaceutical Sciences, and AdministrationNot reported8
Computer EngineeringNot reported7
EconomicsNot reported7
Mechanical EngineeringNot reported7
Agricultural EngineeringNot reported7
Civil EngineeringNot reported6
ArchitectureNot reported6
Ethnic, Cultural Minority, Gender, and Group StudiesNot reported5
Electrical/Electronic Engineering Technologies/TechniciansNot reported4
Chemical EngineeringNot reported4
HistoryNot reported4
Biomedical/Medical EngineeringNot reported4
Philosophy and Religious Studies, OtherNot reported3
Electrical, Electronics, and Communications EngineeringNot reported2
MathematicsNot reported2
Fine and Studio ArtsNot reported2
LawNot reportedNot reported
PhysicsNot reportedNot reported

All 49 bachelor’s programs this college reported.

Similar colleges