Skip to content
College Path Hub

Dominican University of California

San Rafael, California · Private nonprofit · 4-year · City

Compare this college

Official website

At a glance

Average net price
$35,333What students typically pay per year after grants and scholarships.
Acceptance rate
84%
Graduation rate
77%Share of students who finish within 150% of the normal time.
Undergraduates
1,114
In-state tuition
$52,161Published price before aid.
Out-of-state tuition
$52,161
SAT midpoint
1,169
Median earnings, 10 yrs
$84,713Median earnings of former students ten years after they first enrolled.

Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Data year: 2022-23 academic year. Updated September 2026. Figures are averages across all students and will differ from what any individual pays.

How it compares to similar colleges

Each rating covers one measure against private nonprofit 4-year colleges nationally. Five stars means the top fifth on that measure. There is no overall score, because which of these matters is your call.

Affordability

$35,333

Better than 11% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1092 compared).

Completion

77%

Better than 85% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1063 compared).

Earnings

$84,713

Better than 93% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1087 compared).

Debt at graduation

$27,000

Better than 4% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1020 compared).

What these ratings are based on
Affordability
Based on average net price: what students receiving federal aid actually paid, after grants and scholarships. Your own cost depends on your family's finances.
Completion
Based on the share of first-time, full-time students who graduate within 150% of normal time. It excludes transfer and part-time students, which understates colleges serving many of them.
Earnings
Based on median earnings ten years after students first enrolled. It reflects the subjects a college teaches and the region it sits in as much as its teaching.
Debt at graduation
Based on median federal loan debt among students who completed. Private and parent loans are not included, so real totals are often higher.
Why there is no rating for selectivity
A lower acceptance rate is selectivity, not quality. Awarding stars for it would be us inventing a value judgement and hiding it behind a number.

What it actually costs

Published cost

$71,751

The sticker price: tuition, fees, housing, food and books for one academic year, before any aid.

Average net price

$35,333

What students receiving federal aid actually paid on average, after grants and scholarships. This is the more useful number, though your own figure depends on your family’s finances.

Use this college’s official net price calculator

Outcomes

Graduation, retention, debt and earnings for Dominican University of California
Graduation rateWithin 150% of normal time77%
Retention rateFirst-year students who return85%
Median debt at graduationFederal loans only, students who completed$27,000
Median earnings, 10 years after entryFormer students, working and not enrolled$84,713

What graduates of each major earn

Median earnings one year after finishing, for people who took that subject here. This is the figure a college-wide median hides: the spread between subjects at one college is usually far wider than the spread between colleges.

Bachelor’s programs at Dominican University of California by graduate earnings
MajorEarnings, 1 yrDegrees awarded
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$97,762121
Business Administration, Management and Operations$65,61153
Biology, General$39,54818
Psychology, General$31,82523
Computer ProgrammingNot reported33
Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, GeneralNot reported16
Public HealthNot reported15
DanceNot reported13
Communication, Journalism, and Related Programs, OtherNot reported6
Social Sciences, OtherNot reported6
Design and Applied ArtsNot reported5
Education, GeneralNot reported5
ChemistryNot reported5
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and HumanitiesNot reported4
English Language and Literature, GeneralNot reported4
HistoryNot reported4
Political Science and GovernmentNot reported4
MusicNot reported3
Fine and Studio ArtsNot reported1
Visual and Performing Arts, GeneralNot reported1
Multi-/Interdisciplinary Studies, GeneralNot reported1
Rhetoric and Composition/Writing StudiesNot reportedNot reported
International/Globalization StudiesNot reportedNot reported
Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular BiologyNot reportedNot reported
Ecology, Evolution, Systematics, and Population BiologyNot reportedNot reported

All 25 bachelor’s programs this college reported.

Similar colleges