California State Polytechnic University-Humboldt
Arcata, California · Public · 4-year · Town
Official websiteAt a glance
- Average net price
- $13,171What students typically pay per year after grants and scholarships.
- Acceptance rate
- 98%
- Graduation rate
- 48%Share of students who finish within 150% of the normal time.
- Undergraduates
- 5,612
- In-state tuition
- $8,250Published price before aid.
- Out-of-state tuition
- $20,850
- SAT midpoint
- Not reported
- Median earnings, 10 yrs
- $47,626Median earnings of former students ten years after they first enrolled.
Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Data year: 2022-23 academic year. Updated September 2026. Figures are averages across all students and will differ from what any individual pays.
How it compares to similar colleges
Each rating covers one measure against public 4-year colleges nationally. Five stars means the top fifth on that measure. There is no overall score, because which of these matters is your call.
Affordability
$13,1714/5
Better than 63% of public 4-year colleges (565 compared).
Completion
48%2/5
Better than 37% of public 4-year colleges (566 compared).
Earnings
$47,6262/5
Better than 26% of public 4-year colleges (590 compared).
Debt at graduation
$18,0004/5
Better than 78% of public 4-year colleges (588 compared).
What these ratings are based on
- Affordability
- Based on average net price: what students receiving federal aid actually paid, after grants and scholarships. Your own cost depends on your family's finances.
- Completion
- Based on the share of first-time, full-time students who graduate within 150% of normal time. It excludes transfer and part-time students, which understates colleges serving many of them.
- Earnings
- Based on median earnings ten years after students first enrolled. It reflects the subjects a college teaches and the region it sits in as much as its teaching.
- Debt at graduation
- Based on median federal loan debt among students who completed. Private and parent loans are not included, so real totals are often higher.
- Why there is no rating for selectivity
- A lower acceptance rate is selectivity, not quality. Awarding stars for it would be us inventing a value judgement and hiding it behind a number.
What it actually costs
Published cost
$25,170
The sticker price: tuition, fees, housing, food and books for one academic year, before any aid.
Average net price
$13,171
What students receiving federal aid actually paid on average, after grants and scholarships. This is the more useful number, though your own figure depends on your family’s finances.
Outcomes
| Graduation rateWithin 150% of normal time | 48% |
|---|---|
| Retention rateFirst-year students who return | 76% |
| Median debt at graduationFederal loans only, students who completed | $18,000 |
| Median earnings, 10 years after entryFormer students, working and not enrolled | $47,626 |
What graduates of each major earn
Median earnings one year after finishing, for people who took that subject here. This is the figure a college-wide median hides: the spread between subjects at one college is usually far wider than the spread between colleges.
| Major | Earnings, 1 yr | Degrees awarded |
|---|---|---|
| Environmental/Environmental Health Engineering | $55,589 | 36 |
| Forestry | $52,810 | 44 |
| Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, Other | $45,490 | 32 |
| Plant Sciences | $44,038 | 5 |
| Computer Science | $37,153 | 42 |
| Business Administration, Management and Operations | $36,586 | 91 |
| Romance Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics | $36,444 | 4 |
| Political Science and Government | $36,079 | 28 |
| Social Work | $35,693 | 66 |
| Rhetoric and Composition/Writing Studies | $34,309 | Not reported |
| Chemistry | $33,972 | 10 |
| Biology, General | $32,760 | 85 |
| Ethnic, Cultural Minority, Gender, and Group Studies | $30,844 | 24 |
| Botany/Plant Biology | $30,713 | 21 |
| Natural Resources Conservation and Research | $29,917 | 120 |
| Fishing and Fisheries Sciences and Management | $29,862 | 14 |
| Journalism | $29,686 | 16 |
| Geological and Earth Sciences/Geosciences | $29,476 | 27 |
| Criminology | $29,123 | 26 |
| Zoology/Animal Biology | $28,565 | 38 |
| Psychology, General | $28,046 | 153 |
| Geography and Cartography | $27,355 | 14 |
| Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities | $27,303 | 29 |
| Wildlife and Wildlands Science and Management | $26,325 | 98 |
| Parks, Recreation, and Leisure Studies | $26,224 | 11 |
| Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness | $24,660 | 58 |
| Sociology | $24,501 | 16 |
| Fine and Studio Arts | $21,052 | 50 |
| History | $20,972 | 21 |
| Anthropology | $19,868 | 23 |
| Film/Video and Photographic Arts | $19,107 | 20 |
| English Language and Literature, General | $13,896 | 40 |
| Communication and Media Studies | Not reported | 33 |
| Human Development, Family Studies, and Related Services | Not reported | 26 |
| Music | Not reported | 16 |
| Mathematics | Not reported | 13 |
| Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing | Not reported | 12 |
| Economics | Not reported | 9 |
| International/Globalization Studies | Not reported | 8 |
| Religion/Religious Studies | Not reported | 7 |
| Physics | Not reported | 5 |
| Philosophy | Not reported | 4 |
| Drama/Theatre Arts and Stagecraft | Not reported | 3 |
| Physical Sciences, General | Not reported | 1 |
| Social Sciences, General | Not reported | Not reported |
| Computer and Information Sciences, General | Not reported | Not reported |
| Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas | Not reported | Not reported |
| Germanic Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics | Not reported | Not reported |
| Environmental/Natural Resources Management and Policy | Not reported | Not reported |
All 49 bachelor’s programs this college reported.
Similar colleges
Sonoma State University
Rohnert Park, CA
Also a public four-year college in CA, with a similar undergraduate enrollment.
Compare these twoCalifornia State University-Channel Islands
Camarillo, CA
Also a public four-year college in CA, with a similar undergraduate enrollment.
Compare these twoUniversity of Massachusetts Global
Aliso Viejo, CA
Also a public four-year college in CA, with a similar undergraduate enrollment.
Compare these twoCalifornia State University-Monterey Bay
Seaside, CA
Also a public four-year college in CA, with a similar undergraduate enrollment.
Compare these two