Skip to content
College Path Hub

Brandeis University

Waltham, Massachusetts · Private nonprofit · 4-year · City

Compare this college

Official website

At a glance

Average net price
$35,736What students typically pay per year after grants and scholarships.
Acceptance rate
41%
Graduation rate
86%Share of students who finish within 150% of the normal time.
Undergraduates
3,618
In-state tuition
$68,080Published price before aid.
Out-of-state tuition
$68,080
SAT midpoint
1,450
Median earnings, 10 yrs
$77,231Median earnings of former students ten years after they first enrolled.

Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Data year: 2022-23 academic year. Updated September 2026. Figures are averages across all students and will differ from what any individual pays.

How it compares to similar colleges

Each rating covers one measure against private nonprofit 4-year colleges nationally. Five stars means the top fifth on that measure. There is no overall score, because which of these matters is your call.

Affordability

$35,736

Better than 10% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1092 compared).

Completion

86%

Better than 93% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1063 compared).

Earnings

$77,231

Better than 88% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1087 compared).

Debt at graduation

$25,648

Better than 36% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1020 compared).

What these ratings are based on
Affordability
Based on average net price: what students receiving federal aid actually paid, after grants and scholarships. Your own cost depends on your family's finances.
Completion
Based on the share of first-time, full-time students who graduate within 150% of normal time. It excludes transfer and part-time students, which understates colleges serving many of them.
Earnings
Based on median earnings ten years after students first enrolled. It reflects the subjects a college teaches and the region it sits in as much as its teaching.
Debt at graduation
Based on median federal loan debt among students who completed. Private and parent loans are not included, so real totals are often higher.
Why there is no rating for selectivity
A lower acceptance rate is selectivity, not quality. Awarding stars for it would be us inventing a value judgement and hiding it behind a number.

What it actually costs

Published cost

$86,448

The sticker price: tuition, fees, housing, food and books for one academic year, before any aid.

Average net price

$35,736

What students receiving federal aid actually paid on average, after grants and scholarships. This is the more useful number, though your own figure depends on your family’s finances.

Use this college’s official net price calculator

Outcomes

Graduation, retention, debt and earnings for Brandeis University
Graduation rateWithin 150% of normal time86%
Retention rateFirst-year students who return87%
Median debt at graduationFederal loans only, students who completed$25,648
Median earnings, 10 years after entryFormer students, working and not enrolled$77,231

What graduates of each major earn

Median earnings one year after finishing, for people who took that subject here. This is the figure a college-wide median hides: the spread between subjects at one college is usually far wider than the spread between colleges.

Bachelor’s programs at Brandeis University by graduate earnings
MajorEarnings, 1 yrDegrees awarded
Computer Science$80,43192
Economics$57,299141
Business/Commerce, General$55,806111
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, Other$51,61510
Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular Biology$47,41023
Chemistry$46,64128
Sociology$45,28737
Political Science and Government$43,77060
Area Studies$43,74851
Public Policy Analysis$39,943101
English Language and Literature, General$39,86732
Research and Experimental Psychology$37,494109
Biology, General$37,475170
International/Globalization Studies$36,87438
Anthropology$35,39027
Ethnic, Cultural Minority, Gender, and Group Studies$35,05727
History$33,90328
Neurobiology and Neurosciences$32,39754
Natural Resources Conservation and Research$28,02723
Applied MathematicsNot reported52
MathematicsNot reported19
Education, GeneralNot reported18
Fine and Studio ArtsNot reported18
Linguistic, Comparative, and Related Language Studies and ServicesNot reported18
PhilosophyNot reported15
MusicNot reported12
PhysicsNot reported11
Drama/Theatre Arts and StagecraftNot reported10
Film/Video and Photographic ArtsNot reported10
Rhetoric and Composition/Writing StudiesNot reported9
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsNot reported4
Romance Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsNot reportedNot reported
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and HumanitiesNot reportedNot reported

All 33 bachelor’s programs this college reported.

Similar colleges