Skip to content
College Path Hub

Bowdoin College

Brunswick, Maine · Private nonprofit · 4-year · Town

Compare this college

Official website

At a glance

Average net price
$14,398What students typically pay per year after grants and scholarships.
Acceptance rate
7%
Graduation rate
95%Share of students who finish within 150% of the normal time.
Undergraduates
1,873
In-state tuition
$67,832Published price before aid.
Out-of-state tuition
$67,832
SAT midpoint
Not reported
Median earnings, 10 yrs
$82,735Median earnings of former students ten years after they first enrolled.

Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Data year: 2022-23 academic year. Updated September 2026. Figures are averages across all students and will differ from what any individual pays.

How it compares to similar colleges

Each rating covers one measure against private nonprofit 4-year colleges nationally. Five stars means the top fifth on that measure. There is no overall score, because which of these matters is your call.

Affordability

$14,398

Better than 85% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1092 compared).

Completion

95%

Better than 99% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1063 compared).

Earnings

$82,735

Better than 92% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1087 compared).

Debt at graduation

$18,500

Better than 87% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1020 compared).

What these ratings are based on
Affordability
Based on average net price: what students receiving federal aid actually paid, after grants and scholarships. Your own cost depends on your family's finances.
Completion
Based on the share of first-time, full-time students who graduate within 150% of normal time. It excludes transfer and part-time students, which understates colleges serving many of them.
Earnings
Based on median earnings ten years after students first enrolled. It reflects the subjects a college teaches and the region it sits in as much as its teaching.
Debt at graduation
Based on median federal loan debt among students who completed. Private and parent loans are not included, so real totals are often higher.
Why there is no rating for selectivity
A lower acceptance rate is selectivity, not quality. Awarding stars for it would be us inventing a value judgement and hiding it behind a number.

What it actually costs

Published cost

$85,100

The sticker price: tuition, fees, housing, food and books for one academic year, before any aid.

Average net price

$14,398

What students receiving federal aid actually paid on average, after grants and scholarships. This is the more useful number, though your own figure depends on your family’s finances.

Use this college’s official net price calculator

Outcomes

Graduation, retention, debt and earnings for Bowdoin College
Graduation rateWithin 150% of normal time95%
Retention rateFirst-year students who return97%
Median debt at graduationFederal loans only, students who completed$18,500
Median earnings, 10 years after entryFormer students, working and not enrolled$82,735

What graduates of each major earn

Median earnings one year after finishing, for people who took that subject here. This is the figure a college-wide median hides: the spread between subjects at one college is usually far wider than the spread between colleges.

Bachelor’s programs at Bowdoin College by graduate earnings
MajorEarnings, 1 yrDegrees awarded
Mathematics$90,21341
Economics$75,86785
Political Science and Government$60,62677
English Language and Literature, General$49,42136
Sociology$47,74917
Area Studies$45,31539
Neurobiology and Neurosciences$43,37328
Biology, GeneralNot reported47
Research and Experimental PsychologyNot reported29
Computer ScienceNot reported28
HistoryNot reported26
Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular BiologyNot reported25
Education, GeneralNot reported22
PhysicsNot reported19
Natural Resources Conservation and ResearchNot reported18
Fine and Studio ArtsNot reported16
Human Computer InteractionNot reported15
ChemistryNot reported14
Geological and Earth Sciences/GeosciencesNot reported12
AnthropologyNot reported12
Religion/Religious StudiesNot reported9
Ethnic, Cultural Minority, Gender, and Group StudiesNot reported8
Germanic Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsNot reported8
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsNot reported7
Slavic, Baltic and Albanian Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsNot reported6
MusicNot reported6
Visual and Performing Arts, GeneralNot reported5
PhilosophyNot reported4
Mathematics and Computer ScienceNot reported3
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject AreasNot reported2
Romance Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsNot reported2
Drama/Theatre Arts and StagecraftNot reported1
Education, OtherNot reportedNot reported
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, OtherNot reportedNot reported
ArcheologyNot reportedNot reported
Psychology, GeneralNot reportedNot reported

All 36 bachelor’s programs this college reported.

Similar colleges