Skip to content
College Path Hub

Blackburn College

Carlinville, Illinois · Private nonprofit · 4-year · Town

Compare this college

Official website

At a glance

Average net price
$18,460What students typically pay per year after grants and scholarships.
Acceptance rate
63%
Graduation rate
55%Share of students who finish within 150% of the normal time.
Undergraduates
471
In-state tuition
$28,149Published price before aid.
Out-of-state tuition
$28,149
SAT midpoint
1,007
Median earnings, 10 yrs
$46,802Median earnings of former students ten years after they first enrolled.

Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Data year: 2022-23 academic year. Updated September 2026. Figures are averages across all students and will differ from what any individual pays.

How it compares to similar colleges

Each rating covers one measure against private nonprofit 4-year colleges nationally. Five stars means the top fifth on that measure. There is no overall score, because which of these matters is your call.

Affordability

$18,460

Better than 74% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1092 compared).

Completion

55%

Better than 43% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1063 compared).

Earnings

$46,802

Better than 28% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1087 compared).

Debt at graduation

$24,242

Better than 56% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1020 compared).

What these ratings are based on
Affordability
Based on average net price: what students receiving federal aid actually paid, after grants and scholarships. Your own cost depends on your family's finances.
Completion
Based on the share of first-time, full-time students who graduate within 150% of normal time. It excludes transfer and part-time students, which understates colleges serving many of them.
Earnings
Based on median earnings ten years after students first enrolled. It reflects the subjects a college teaches and the region it sits in as much as its teaching.
Debt at graduation
Based on median federal loan debt among students who completed. Private and parent loans are not included, so real totals are often higher.
Why there is no rating for selectivity
A lower acceptance rate is selectivity, not quality. Awarding stars for it would be us inventing a value judgement and hiding it behind a number.

What it actually costs

Published cost

$37,916

The sticker price: tuition, fees, housing, food and books for one academic year, before any aid.

Average net price

$18,460

What students receiving federal aid actually paid on average, after grants and scholarships. This is the more useful number, though your own figure depends on your family’s finances.

Use this college’s official net price calculator

Outcomes

Graduation, retention, debt and earnings for Blackburn College
Graduation rateWithin 150% of normal time55%
Retention rateFirst-year students who return67%
Median debt at graduationFederal loans only, students who completed$24,242
Median earnings, 10 years after entryFormer students, working and not enrolled$46,802

What graduates of each major earn

Median earnings one year after finishing, for people who took that subject here. This is the figure a college-wide median hides: the spread between subjects at one college is usually far wider than the spread between colleges.

Bachelor’s programs at Blackburn College by graduate earnings
MajorEarnings, 1 yrDegrees awarded
Criminal Justice and Corrections$33,7399
Business Administration, Management and OperationsNot reported13
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and MethodsNot reported9
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject AreasNot reported6
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/FitnessNot reported6
Visual and Performing Arts, GeneralNot reported5
Biology, GeneralNot reported5
Rhetoric and Composition/Writing StudiesNot reported4
Political Science and GovernmentNot reported2
MathematicsNot reported2
Fine and Studio ArtsNot reported1
Clinical/Medical Laboratory Science/Research and Allied ProfessionsNot reported1
Psychology, GeneralNot reported1
Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular BiologyNot reported1
Health/Medical Preparatory ProgramsNot reported1
Computer Software and Media ApplicationsNot reported1
Computer/Information Technology Administration and ManagementNot reported1
Teaching Assistants/AidesNot reported1
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, OtherNot reported1
Computer ScienceNot reported1
HistoryNot reported1
Ecology, Evolution, Systematics, and Population BiologyNot reported1
Accounting and Related ServicesNot reported1
MusicNot reported1
Drama/Theatre Arts and StagecraftNot reportedNot reported
Education, GeneralNot reportedNot reported
LiteratureNot reportedNot reported
English Language and Literature, GeneralNot reportedNot reported
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and HumanitiesNot reportedNot reported
Clinical, Counseling and Applied PsychologyNot reportedNot reported
Public AdministrationNot reportedNot reported
Applied MathematicsNot reportedNot reported
ChemistryNot reportedNot reported
Non-Professional Legal StudiesNot reportedNot reported
Special Education and TeachingNot reportedNot reported
Agricultural Business and ManagementNot reportedNot reported
Romance Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsNot reportedNot reported
Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied CommunicationNot reportedNot reported
Human Resources Management and ServicesNot reportedNot reported
Natural Resources Conservation and ResearchNot reportedNot reported
MarketingNot reportedNot reported
Communication and Media StudiesNot reportedNot reported

All 42 bachelor’s programs this college reported.

Similar colleges