Skip to content
College Path Hub

Barton College

Wilson, North Carolina · Private nonprofit · 4-year · Town

Compare this college

Official website

At a glance

Average net price
$23,626What students typically pay per year after grants and scholarships.
Acceptance rate
94%
Graduation rate
48%Share of students who finish within 150% of the normal time.
Undergraduates
982
In-state tuition
$37,250Published price before aid.
Out-of-state tuition
$37,250
SAT midpoint
1,060
Median earnings, 10 yrs
$47,913Median earnings of former students ten years after they first enrolled.

Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Data year: 2022-23 academic year. Updated September 2026. Figures are averages across all students and will differ from what any individual pays.

How it compares to similar colleges

Each rating covers one measure against private nonprofit 4-year colleges nationally. Five stars means the top fifth on that measure. There is no overall score, because which of these matters is your call.

Affordability

$23,626

Better than 45% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1092 compared).

Completion

48%

Better than 30% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1063 compared).

Earnings

$47,913

Better than 30% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1087 compared).

Debt at graduation

$25,877

Better than 34% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1020 compared).

What these ratings are based on
Affordability
Based on average net price: what students receiving federal aid actually paid, after grants and scholarships. Your own cost depends on your family's finances.
Completion
Based on the share of first-time, full-time students who graduate within 150% of normal time. It excludes transfer and part-time students, which understates colleges serving many of them.
Earnings
Based on median earnings ten years after students first enrolled. It reflects the subjects a college teaches and the region it sits in as much as its teaching.
Debt at graduation
Based on median federal loan debt among students who completed. Private and parent loans are not included, so real totals are often higher.
Why there is no rating for selectivity
A lower acceptance rate is selectivity, not quality. Awarding stars for it would be us inventing a value judgement and hiding it behind a number.

What it actually costs

Published cost

$51,935

The sticker price: tuition, fees, housing, food and books for one academic year, before any aid.

Average net price

$23,626

What students receiving federal aid actually paid on average, after grants and scholarships. This is the more useful number, though your own figure depends on your family’s finances.

Use this college’s official net price calculator

Outcomes

Graduation, retention, debt and earnings for Barton College
Graduation rateWithin 150% of normal time48%
Retention rateFirst-year students who return65%
Median debt at graduationFederal loans only, students who completed$25,877
Median earnings, 10 years after entryFormer students, working and not enrolled$47,913

What graduates of each major earn

Median earnings one year after finishing, for people who took that subject here. This is the figure a college-wide median hides: the spread between subjects at one college is usually far wider than the spread between colleges.

Bachelor’s programs at Barton College by graduate earnings
MajorEarnings, 1 yrDegrees awarded
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$68,74133
Business Administration, Management and Operations$44,37445
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods$41,25111
Social Work$38,31213
Biology, General$35,78318
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness$29,37455
Psychology, GeneralNot reported12
Fine and Studio ArtsNot reported11
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and HumanitiesNot reported8
Public HealthNot reported7
Criminal Justice and CorrectionsNot reported6
Health and Medical Administrative ServicesNot reported6
HistoryNot reported5
English Language and Literature, GeneralNot reported4
GerontologyNot reported3
ChemistryNot reported3
Communication and Media StudiesNot reported3
Romance Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsNot reported3
Special Education and TeachingNot reported2
Design and Applied ArtsNot reported2
Political Science and GovernmentNot reported2
Drama/Theatre Arts and StagecraftNot reported2
Religion/Religious StudiesNot reported1
MathematicsNot reportedNot reported
JournalismNot reportedNot reported
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, OtherNot reportedNot reported
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject AreasNot reportedNot reported
Philosophy and Religious Studies, GeneralNot reportedNot reported

All 28 bachelor’s programs this college reported.

Similar colleges