Skip to content
College Path Hub

Avila University

Kansas City, Missouri · Private nonprofit · 4-year · City

Compare this college

Official website

At a glance

Average net price
$16,053What students typically pay per year after grants and scholarships.
Acceptance rate
88%
Graduation rate
47%Share of students who finish within 150% of the normal time.
Undergraduates
1,312
In-state tuition
$42,000Published price before aid.
Out-of-state tuition
$42,000
SAT midpoint
1,047
Median earnings, 10 yrs
$52,773Median earnings of former students ten years after they first enrolled.

Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Data year: 2022-23 academic year. Updated September 2026. Figures are averages across all students and will differ from what any individual pays.

How it compares to similar colleges

Each rating covers one measure against private nonprofit 4-year colleges nationally. Five stars means the top fifth on that measure. There is no overall score, because which of these matters is your call.

Affordability

$16,053

Better than 81% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1092 compared).

Completion

47%

Better than 29% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1063 compared).

Earnings

$52,773

Better than 45% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1087 compared).

Debt at graduation

$25,000

Better than 40% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1020 compared).

What these ratings are based on
Affordability
Based on average net price: what students receiving federal aid actually paid, after grants and scholarships. Your own cost depends on your family's finances.
Completion
Based on the share of first-time, full-time students who graduate within 150% of normal time. It excludes transfer and part-time students, which understates colleges serving many of them.
Earnings
Based on median earnings ten years after students first enrolled. It reflects the subjects a college teaches and the region it sits in as much as its teaching.
Debt at graduation
Based on median federal loan debt among students who completed. Private and parent loans are not included, so real totals are often higher.
Why there is no rating for selectivity
A lower acceptance rate is selectivity, not quality. Awarding stars for it would be us inventing a value judgement and hiding it behind a number.

What it actually costs

Published cost

$50,096

The sticker price: tuition, fees, housing, food and books for one academic year, before any aid.

Average net price

$16,053

What students receiving federal aid actually paid on average, after grants and scholarships. This is the more useful number, though your own figure depends on your family’s finances.

Use this college’s official net price calculator

Outcomes

Graduation, retention, debt and earnings for Avila University
Graduation rateWithin 150% of normal time47%
Retention rateFirst-year students who return71%
Median debt at graduationFederal loans only, students who completed$25,000
Median earnings, 10 years after entryFormer students, working and not enrolled$52,773

What graduates of each major earn

Median earnings one year after finishing, for people who took that subject here. This is the figure a college-wide median hides: the spread between subjects at one college is usually far wider than the spread between colleges.

Bachelor’s programs at Avila University by graduate earnings
MajorEarnings, 1 yrDegrees awarded
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$67,17937
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions$55,60520
Business/Commerce, General$47,53024
Psychology, General$36,95714
Communication and Media Studies$33,90510
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/FitnessNot reported14
Computer and Information Sciences, GeneralNot reported10
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and HumanitiesNot reported10
Social WorkNot reported8
Health and Medical Administrative ServicesNot reported8
Health/Medical Preparatory ProgramsNot reported8
CriminologyNot reported7
Biology, GeneralNot reported6
Human Resources Management and ServicesNot reported6
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and MethodsNot reported6
Fine and Studio ArtsNot reported6
General Sales, Merchandising and Related Marketing OperationsNot reported6
Drama/Theatre Arts and StagecraftNot reported5
Finance and Financial Management ServicesNot reported3
Business Administration, Management and OperationsNot reported3
HistoryNot reported2
English Language and Literature, GeneralNot reported2
Special Education and TeachingNot reported2
Education, GeneralNot reported2
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject AreasNot reported2
Religion/Religious StudiesNot reported1
MusicNot reported1
Accounting and Related ServicesNot reported1
International and Comparative EducationNot reportedNot reported
MathematicsNot reportedNot reported
ChemistryNot reportedNot reported
SociologyNot reportedNot reported
PhilosophyNot reportedNot reported
Natural Resources Conservation and ResearchNot reportedNot reported
Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied CommunicationNot reportedNot reported
Romance Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsNot reportedNot reported
Hospitality Administration/ManagementNot reportedNot reported
International BusinessNot reportedNot reported

All 38 bachelor’s programs this college reported.

Similar colleges