Skip to content
College Path Hub

Augustana University

Sioux Falls, South Dakota · Private nonprofit · 4-year · City

Compare this college

Official website

At a glance

Average net price
$23,894What students typically pay per year after grants and scholarships.
Acceptance rate
68%
Graduation rate
74%Share of students who finish within 150% of the normal time.
Undergraduates
1,965
In-state tuition
$40,160Published price before aid.
Out-of-state tuition
$40,160
SAT midpoint
1,160
Median earnings, 10 yrs
$59,217Median earnings of former students ten years after they first enrolled.

Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Data year: 2022-23 academic year. Updated September 2026. Figures are averages across all students and will differ from what any individual pays.

How it compares to similar colleges

Each rating covers one measure against private nonprofit 4-year colleges nationally. Five stars means the top fifth on that measure. There is no overall score, because which of these matters is your call.

Affordability

$23,894

Better than 43% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1092 compared).

Completion

74%

Better than 82% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1063 compared).

Earnings

$59,217

Better than 65% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1087 compared).

Debt at graduation

$25,000

Better than 40% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1020 compared).

What these ratings are based on
Affordability
Based on average net price: what students receiving federal aid actually paid, after grants and scholarships. Your own cost depends on your family's finances.
Completion
Based on the share of first-time, full-time students who graduate within 150% of normal time. It excludes transfer and part-time students, which understates colleges serving many of them.
Earnings
Based on median earnings ten years after students first enrolled. It reflects the subjects a college teaches and the region it sits in as much as its teaching.
Debt at graduation
Based on median federal loan debt among students who completed. Private and parent loans are not included, so real totals are often higher.
Why there is no rating for selectivity
A lower acceptance rate is selectivity, not quality. Awarding stars for it would be us inventing a value judgement and hiding it behind a number.

What it actually costs

Published cost

$55,159

The sticker price: tuition, fees, housing, food and books for one academic year, before any aid.

Average net price

$23,894

What students receiving federal aid actually paid on average, after grants and scholarships. This is the more useful number, though your own figure depends on your family’s finances.

Use this college’s official net price calculator

Outcomes

Graduation, retention, debt and earnings for Augustana University
Graduation rateWithin 150% of normal time74%
Retention rateFirst-year students who return86%
Median debt at graduationFederal loans only, students who completed$25,000
Median earnings, 10 years after entryFormer students, working and not enrolled$59,217

What graduates of each major earn

Median earnings one year after finishing, for people who took that subject here. This is the figure a college-wide median hides: the spread between subjects at one college is usually far wider than the spread between colleges.

Bachelor’s programs at Augustana University by graduate earnings
MajorEarnings, 1 yrDegrees awarded
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$72,23768
Business Administration, Management and Operations$50,51640
Political Science and Government$46,64619
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods$44,29032
Psychology, General$39,09829
English Language and Literature, General$36,24712
Biology, GeneralNot reported50
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/FitnessNot reported28
Accounting and Related ServicesNot reported18
MathematicsNot reported17
Finance and Financial Management ServicesNot reported16
Romance Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsNot reported14
SociologyNot reported14
Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular BiologyNot reported12
MarketingNot reported12
Computer ScienceNot reported11
Communication Disorders Sciences and ServicesNot reported11
Computational ScienceNot reported10
HistoryNot reported9
AnthropologyNot reported8
PhilosophyNot reported7
Fine and Studio ArtsNot reported7
PhysicsNot reported7
Natural Resources Conservation and ResearchNot reported7
Religion/Religious StudiesNot reported6
Business/Corporate CommunicationsNot reported6
Special Education and TeachingNot reported6
Computer and Information Sciences, GeneralNot reported6
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject AreasNot reported5
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and HumanitiesNot reported5
American Sign LanguageNot reported5
JournalismNot reported5
ChemistryNot reported5
Engineering, GeneralNot reported4
Communication and Media StudiesNot reported4
EconomicsNot reported3
Linguistic, Comparative, and Related Language Studies and ServicesNot reported2
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsNot reported2
Drama/Theatre Arts and StagecraftNot reported2
Engineering PhysicsNot reported1
Natural SciencesNot reported1
International/Globalization StudiesNot reported1
MusicNot reported1
Education, OtherNot reported1
Germanic Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsNot reported1
Clinical/Medical Laboratory Science/Research and Allied ProfessionsNot reported1
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment ProfessionsNot reportedNot reported
Area StudiesNot reportedNot reported
Philosophy and Religious Studies, GeneralNot reportedNot reported

All 49 bachelor’s programs this college reported.

Similar colleges